Committing Songs to Memory

Have you ever turned on the radio (I know many of us, do not even list to the radio anymore), or browsed a playlist on your phone or iPod and said to yourself “That songs really takes me back to __________(whatever year that the song was popular).” I thoroughly enjoy the times when this happens while I am driving or casually hanging out. I think of all the memories I had during the year that song came out. It takes me back to certain moments when that song was playing when it was popular. Although these years were not too long ago, I have created a list of songs that take me back to my college days.

2008

miaMIA- Paper Planes: I originally started listening to this song in 2007 but it did not really get popular until 2008. I remember this song being played EVERYWHERE. It was played at my prom and college house parties when I first got to college. It was that feel good song that made sense to anyone but when the part with the gun shots came on, everyone used their hands as fake guns and shot them up into the air.

One Republic- Store and Stare: This may have not been one of the most popular songs of 2008, but it was definitely a sentimental hit. I remember playing this song as I drove to my high school graduation. I was crying because at that point the words of the song became so clear to me. The song was telling me to look around me and reflect on my life, so that is what I did.
Beyonce- Single Ladies: We all remember Kanye’s outburst at the 2009 MTV Video Music Award but this song was really popular toward the end of 2008. Everybody would sing this song and all the desperate single woman would do the dance and the hand wave (I am included in those guilty single women.) I would even award this song as one of the most annoying songs of 2008 because it was so catchy and irritating. We get it, you should have put a ring on it!
2009
Orinathi- According to You:
Many people may not remember this song but it had an awesome guitar solo in the middle of the song and remarkably, the singer, Orianthi, was the one performing the guitar solo. I personally loved this song, I even had it as my ringtone on my first Sprint touch screen phone. My friends and roommate thought I was lame for enjoying this song, but what can I say, I am guilty of indulging in one hit wonders.
Lady Gaga- Bad Romance: I am not sure which song got more annoying first, Bad Romance or Single Ladies. When this song would come on in stores or at a house party, all the girls would nod their heads during the beginning of the song. There were so many YouTube videos of Lady Gaga’s dance to Bad Romance that it was hard to compare which was more entertaining- Gaga’s creeping video or the horrible dance moves of YouTubers.855020-drake
Any Drake song (So Far Gone Mixtape): Drake blew up in 2009 and he was every white kid’s favorite rapper besides Lil Wayne. You could not go anywhere without girls and guys alike rapping his lyrics. I remember playing “So Far Gone” on repeat from February 2009- May 2009. It was a bit ridiculous but it was catchy and Drake was a Renaissance man while still being remaining to be a rapper.
2010
Katy Perry- Teenage Dream: From the moment I saw the music video to this song, Katy-Perry-Teenage-Dream-FanMade-fiery472I was obsessed. I played this song every single day my junior year, first semester of college. The song put me in a good mood and made me really energetic in the morning. It was like my morning coffee without the caffeine.
Far East Movement- Like A G6: ‘Til this day, I still cannot listen to this song because that it how annoying it is. This was one of those songs that you listened to once and already knew every single word. Every time, I went out to a bar and heard this song, I would make my way to the bathroom to fix my makeup because that it how bad I felt this song was.
Florence and The Machine- Dog Days Are Over: This was another song that was a feel good song. I always used to play this song when I was having a bad day to remind me that life has its ups and downs but it is important to stay positive and know that negativity is not here to stay.
Kanye West featuring Pusha T: When I first heart this song on the MTV Video Music Awards in 2010, I was kind of confused. I did not know whether to like this song or absolutely hate it. Once I gave it a second listen, I loved it. There is something about the cockiness and nonchalant attitude that Kanye provides us with that I could not resist.
2011
Adele- Someone Like You: I remember when Adele first came out in 2008 with the song “Chasing Pavements.” That song was popular, but no one knew who Adele was, nor did they care. Then when she came out with “Someone Like You,” everyone wanted to know who she was. Her whole album “21” turned out to be very relate-able and girls could not resist all the heartbreak tunes to get them through their breakups.
Jessie J- Domino: To me, this was the most hated song of 2011. It was annoying and addicting, and to top it off, she sounded like a generic version of Katy Perry. Even as annoying as this song was, every time I was in the car driving during the summer of 2011, I would keep on the song as the bright rays of sunshine hit my sunglasses.
LMFAO- Party Rock Anthem: As much as I had hoped that LMFAO would be a one hit lmfao_320wonder, they continue to shock me with their ridiculous lyrics that all of America loves. When this song would come out during a party, club, or bar everyone would sing a long and for once, everyone would act like they get along. To sum it up, it was my worst nightmare.
Pitbull- Give Me Everything: When this song first came out, it was around April/May of 2011. It had all the perfect elements of a song, great pop-rap verses and a catchy chorus with two R&B singers. It was a song that made me look forward to the weekends.  However, this song overstayed it’s welcome and continued to play until the long winter months of 2011.
2012
Carly Rae Jepsen- Call Me Maybe: I tried really really hard to hate this song yet it consumed me. It made me happy, it made me repeat its lyrics. It was awful- I had began to enjoy a pop sensation. Then I found out that this song was made for Adam Levine. At the moment that I found out this information, I felt all was right with the world and I did not blame Carly Rae Jepsen for creating this song.
Gotye featuring Kimbre- Somebody that I used to Know: This was another one of those addicting songs from 2012. It was trendy and different which appears to be the look that many people are trying to achieve lately (which is also known as becoming a “hipster”). This was another song that got old real fast but as much as we were all tired of the song, we still listened to the song for it’s entire duration.
Frank Ocean- Thinking About You: A powerful song about having deep feelings for someone, who could resist not liking this song? In addition, it was not a song that got on one’s nerves due to it’s calm and mellow nature. Besides, Frank Ocean had the best performance at the 2012 MTV Music Awards (yes, I like to reference to this award show a lot, apparently).
Fun.- We Are Young: When I think of this song, I think about a time when I was in downtown Cleveland, eating dinner on East 4th Street and this song wa1667469-Fun.-617-409s playing at the House of Blues Restaurant. A group of girls began to sing along with this song, from that moment forward I knew that this was one of the most popular songs of the summer. Everywhere you went, this song was playing. It is one of those songs, like Journey- Don’t Stop Believing that plays when the bars are closing down for the night. This will be the song that plays when the bar is ready to close when are kids are in their 20’s (yikes!).
No matter what songs you remember during these years, I think we can all agree that as the years continue to proceed, that there will be songs that “take us back” to a memory, person, or event. Someday the songs that were popular during these years will be considered “throwbacks” and a thing of the past. This is another way to realize that you are getting older and are no longer a kid. It is bittersweet to think about. What songs are most memorable to you during these years?
Leave a Reply

